To: My Former Employer ~ Don’t worry, this is only nearly impossible! :-D

Quick preface: “Workplace Issues” is a work of creative nonfiction based on my true story of being bullied and harassed. It’s told in a series of open letters.

You once made the observation that if you could somehow get any, “impossible client” in front of me then they would be my, “loyal client for life.”

The same thing kind of pertained to seemingly impossible situations. If it seemed impossible then it would land on my desk or be delegated to me. And that was fine. I always enjoyed the challenge. It was one of my favorite parts of the job actually.

So, what happened hit the point of fifth stage mobbing as defined by Heinz Leymann. There currently isn’t, or wasn’t, an effective solution for getting damage to the victims reputation and the abusive behavior within a professional community under control.

This has a lot to do with the fact that if mobbing hits that point then the target is probably suffering from PTSD. Since there is no effective way to remove ones self from the situation it typical causes a traumatic stress breakdown. A traumatic stress breakdown is a normal reaction to an abnormal situation and not an indication of serious mental illness. But, it looks a lot like serious mental illness and is nearly as debilitating if untreated.

In a nut shell, it’s fairly easy to get away with branding someone as insane while they are effectively insane. And, this phenomenon is quite well researched. Extremely abusive individuals, or bullies, want to cause their target a breakdown. They actually derive satisfaction from hurting others. It’s a power trip for them, like with sex offenders.

I’ll be extremely specific about what he was doing. His body language, tone of voice and language were so threatening and intimidating that if a man were interacting with another man that way one would reasonably think that matters were about to hit the point of physical violence. He was also making repeated references to my personal and specifically sexual history. I don’t know what he is or isn’t capable of but he intended to terrify me. It wasn’t an accident, it was completely intentional.

Anyway, there currently isn’t an effective solution for getting fifth stage mobbing under control. But, I’m of the opinion that it’s only nearly impossible.

Wish me luck! 😀

