To the Perpetrator: Yes, you made a mistake when you pulled the control.

Quick preface: “Workplace Issues” is a work of creative nonfiction based on my true story of being bullied. It’s told in a series of open letters.

Immediately before you became violently verbally abusive on the last occasion you said, “Did I make a mistake when I?”

You didn’t complete the sentence but the next logical phrase would have been, “pulled the control?”

You finally had the epiphany when I told you that I hadn’t attempted to set up a sales business due to the volatile and unhealthy nature of our relationship. I specifically referenced the fact that you and I were unable to resolve conflict.

The answer is yes, you made a mistake when you pulled the control. For future reference, what big people do is apologize for mistakes and do everything within their power to fix them!

