To my Mentor: “On the corner of main street…”

a broken flower

Image via Wikipedia

“On the corner of main street, just trying to keep it in line…can you read my mind? I never really gave up on breaking out of this two star town. I got the green light I got a little fight…I don’t mind if you don’t mind. I don’t shine if you don’t shine…Can you read my mind?” – The Killers

Mentor-protégée are extremely well researched. As you know my decision making style is almost entirely intuitive. Apparently the mentor being able to predict he protégées behaviors, attitudes and decisions and vice versa is quite common. It always amazed me that you could anticipate my next move when I personally had no idea what my next decision or move would be. I miss you terribly and I’m concerned that you are extremely unhappy. I can’t communicate with you directly right now and some of this is written in code. I need for you to read my mind. Naturally that won’t be problematic because you always could. Please read my mind again, it’s important this time!

Quick note to readers: “Workplace Issues” is a work of creative nonfiction based on my true story of being bullied. It’s told in a series of open letters.

 

