To The Perpetrator: Your judgment was inaccurate and your behavior was predatory.

A mantis eating a bee. Location: Saitama, Japan

Image via Wikipedia

You informed me repeatedly that I have a, “challenge with setting and respecting boundaries.”

Your observation was inaccurate. I’m neither abusive nor a passive victim.

However, you perceived a weakness. The only person who has literally disrespected every major boundary that I have set with them is you. And, in order to be effective at keeping me in a disrespectful relationship you had to literally cause me a state of duress. This isn’t acceptable professional behavior.

Exploiting a perceived weakness is predatory.

Quick note to readers: “Workplace Issues” is a work of creative nonfiction based on my true story of being bullied. It’s told in a series of open letters.

 

